There is a problem today that copyright materials such as music, films and books are freely available on the internet with the result that the owners of the works lose money. Do you feel that this is a good or a bad thing?

With more and more businesses moving online, the entertainment industry has started following this trend with the launch of on-demand services where viewers can take a subscription to listen to music, watch movies, and read books. Nonetheless, thousands of talented workers, who work hard to produce these movies, music, and books get paid very little for their work. The main reason for this is that it is now easier than ever to pirate media online and as a result the creators of such content get little revenue. In my opinion, it is a bad thing as the content creators don't get the recognition they deserve. This essay will delve into the problems and solutions to overcome such an obstacle. The main problem that arises with pirating content online is that the people who work hard to produce them lose a lot of money in the process. For instance, Netflix reported in 2019 that it had lost 25% of its profits as a result of people pirating their movies and television shows and it wasn't just Netflix that fell prey to digital pirates. Companies like Amazon prime and Spotify have had their books and music downloaded and distributed illegally. Therefore, a major problem when people distribute pirated copies is that the creators of these products lose a lot of revenue. A plausible solution that can be used to deal with the issue is to not only incorporate anti-pirating software into these services but also educate the public on the hazards of consuming such content. For instance, a survey conducted by the Washington Post in 2020 stated that 74% of the viewers on illegal streaming platforms were simply uneducated on the dangers of illegitimately consuming various forms of media. Furthermore, when Digital Media Consumer Act (DMCA)software was used on these platforms piracy fell down to about 27%. Hence, educating the public about the dangers of piracy can indeed help prevent the wrongful consumption of media. In conclusion, it is my opinion, that it is in fact wrong to use unauthorized digital property because it will lead to the loss of revenue for the enterprises who undertook the production of these properties and a possible answer to mitigate a similar scenario is to educate the public on the hazards of wrongfully watching content as well as incorporating software to prevent piracy of these content.