Companies spend millions each year on advertising online, in magazines and billboards.These adverts can encourage people to buy products that they do not really need? What are the positive and negative effects of consumerism?

In today's world, it can be clearly observed that the majority of businesses spend millions annually on marketing activities. This essay will discuss whether this method may encourage consumers to purchase what they actually do not need and, secondly, it will analyse a positive and negative impact of consumerism. First of all, to begin with, advertisements can easily force humans to change their opinion and buy an unnecessary product. This is because of the fact that not only are people vulnurable to beautiful pictures on billboards but also they may remember exactly that staff promoted somewhere. Therefore, people's interest in product is likely to increase if it has an outstanding marketing campaign. For example, recent research has shown that more than 40% of purchases are considered to be unnecessary and were bought due to advertisements. Secondly, the possible positive influence of consumerism is that it may stimulate economic growth. This is due to the fact that the more products are produced and, consequently, consumed the higher the GDP (Gross Domestic Product) that, in turn, increases the rate of development of a country. However, one possible drawback of this tendency is the case that more scarce and unsustainable resources are exploited and, hence, it may lead to a period of stasis in the long term. For instance, if people are demanding more consumer goods companies will have to increase production and use scarce resources. Eventually, to conclude, a powerful promotion can encourage customers to acquire those goods which they actually do not need. In the regard to consumerism, the advantage of this approach is a rapid economic growth, while the demerit may be the fact that more and more scarce resources are being used