In the developed world, average life expectancy is increasing. What problems will this cause for individuals and society? Suggest some measures that could be taken to reduce the impact of ageing populations.

In contemporary life, the world is currently experiencing an increase in the average life span. This issue will influence significantly both individuals and the community as a whole, and some fundamental solutions should be adopted to tackle this problem. To begin with, as people get older and the population has been expanded, several drawbacks are anticipated. On an individual level, it puts a heavy burden on the healthcare service system. In other words, seniors are more vulnerable to suffer from immune or cardiovascular disease, which requires a higher level of special treatment cost. On a societal level, lacking labour supplements due to the commonly increasing gap between generations affects the revenue of the government. To be specific, in contrast to a rise in the number of retired people asking for pension benefits, there is a decline in the number of working ages who pay for the income tax. Consequently, the combination between the higher pension policy and lower-income profit may seriously compromise the economy as a whole. There are some compelling measures that government can implement to cope with these problems. Firstly, investing in amenities for seniors at affordable prices enables to reduce the impact of ageing populations. The further solution can be taken as imposing a new rewarding labour law to tempt the young human resource so as to deal with the shortage of employment. Finally, it is immensely crucial to educate elderly people on the importance of money arrangement and saving. As a result, when they reach their retirement, they are still able to possess a budget to settle down without depending on their pension or children. To sum up, some negative influences by ageing populations are identified, and some feasible solutions are suggested to mitigate that problem.