The importance of biodiversity is being more widely recognized as increasing numbers of species come under threat. What can be done to maintain biodiversity? Why is species loss occurring? What is the potential effect of this?

An increasing concern for many people around the world is that the number of plants and animals which have become extinct has increased greatly. The causes of this phenomenon are varied and have led to a wide range of effects on human life. In this essay I will examine the reasons why species loss is occurring and discuss the results it can have on people and the world. From an overall perspective, there are two main reasons why various numbers of species come under threat. Firstly, the primary cause of this phenomenon is deforestation and illegal logging. This is due to an enormous demand for land for urbanization which has resulted in the loss of habitat for wild animals and plants. Secondly, biotelemetry can also be negatively affected by pollution. For example, emissions from vehicles, factories and industrial wastage contribute to global warming, which in turn leads to the destruction of animals and plants. The results of species loss are numerous and potentially serious. Perhaps the most serious consequence is that plants are a valuable source of medicine. If we lose these medicines, we will not be able to cure or treat many complex diseases. A second consequence is that the food chain can be affected. In conclusion, the extinction of plants and animals is an issue which will continue to be demanded in the foreseeable future. If the government and individuals do not work together to solve this problem, the well-being of our future generation will be in danger.