Multicultural societies, in which there is a mixture of different ethnic peoples, bring more benefits than drawbacks to a country. To what extent do you agree or disagree? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own experience or knowledge.

In today’s globalised word, as cities become increasingly cosmopolitan and culturally diverse, it is highly important to nurture social harmony between natives and newcomers. It is felt that in order to achieve this laudable goal host cities should provide language courses and well-thought-out employment programmes for newcomers. Since a language barrier is often the main reason why newcomers find it hard to integrate in host communities, first and foremost, the authorities should provide free language training for those who do not speak the local language. Norway provides a good example in offering up to 250 hours of language training for asylum seekers. Similarly, Denmark`s official induction programme provides language training for up to five years to illiterate refugees. Not only does such an approach allow newcomers to study and work but also enables them to communicate, share their experiences, memories and values to create bonds with the locals and bridge cultural divides. Even though such a measure requires financial support from the state, the experience of countries which provide free language tuition to immigrants shows that in a long term perspective any investment will pay off by nurturing harmony in rapidly-growing melting pots. Secondly, local authorities have to ensure that there are job opportunities for newcomers since a lack thereof often leads to segregation and social exclusion of migrant communities which, as the experience of Paris and other cities in France show, overtime can boil over into riots. Immigrants, and refugees in particular, are often seen as a burden for the local community, since they often lack professional qualifications which would make them competitive on the job market. However, they usually have unique skills and potential which provide a fertile ground for entrepreneurship as long as there is suitable support from the state. For example, in Antwerp, Belgium, with the help of local authorities, Assyrian Christian refugees, who faced the problem of unemployment, used their traditional skills to revitalise ancient craft of hand weaving, a once declining industry in Belgium. Nowadays it is a thriving business enterprise which would have never been created unless the locals had recognised the potential of immigrant communities. To conclude, if cities are to be culturally inclusive and socially diverse, city governments have the responsibility to develop local policies that integrate newcomers into social and economic life of the city. Language courses and employment programs can be the first step in an attempt to enhance economic contribution of migrants to the city and mitigate tension between locals and newcomers.