Televised talent shows have become popular in many societies today. Are these shows a good method of finding talented people, or are they just entertainment? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

In recent years, televised talent shows or also known as reality shows have risen in popularity massively. Whereas, the main purpose of these shows is to find talent from the crowd. In contrast, few people believe that it's just for entertainment. This essay will discuss in detail whether such a talent hunt can really do justice to real talent. Firstly, the reality shows as designed to get ordinary people to partake in a pre-organised competition, where the competitors compete and the best of the lot ultimately wins the competition. On one hand, niche competitions can provide a lot of underprivileged people with an opportunity to showcase their talent. In addition, many of these participants grow up to become global superstars courtesy of the platform and the exposure to the entertainment world. Even though, the basic foundation for these shows is entertainment, the shows do succeed in exerting a future superstar. Furthermore, the success of the talent shows in one country has resulted in the replication of such shows in different nations, which has provided a global platform to thousands of people all over the world. For example, the show American Idol which originated in the USA has been successfully replicated in countries like India, Thailand, Nepal, Pakistan. Similarly, cooking shows like Masterchef have given so many wannabe chefs all over the world a stage to showcase their skills and fulfil their dreams. To conclude, talent hunting shows are definitely viewed for their entertainment aspect but no one can deny the good that these shows do to deserving contestants. Lastly, I firmly believe that televised talent shows are good if not better method of finding talent in modern society.