The best way to reduce crime amongst young people is to teach parents good parenting skills. Do you agree or disagree?

The graph of crimes is on the increase nowadays. These crimes are mostly committed by youngsters, which is definitely a matter of great concern. Many people claim that this is the result of bad parenting as parents are ignorant of their kids activities. However, I disagree with the aforementioned statement and will discuss the same in this essay. In today’s world society plays an important role in forming an individual’s mindset. Youth learn their behaviour from their surroundings. Present generation is exposed to various exploitative content on social media and internet such as aggressive video games, pornography, crime shows and lot more. I believe even movies encourage social evils as they project lead cast murdering people in name of revenge and take law in their hands which portrays them as heroic. Huge number of youth is getting involved in illegal intoxication because cinema has depicted that taking alcohol and drugs is a casual thing. There are many other social factors like unemployment, peer pressure, poverty that persuade youngsters to involve in crimes. In conclusion, I would say that parents can only inculcate good values in their children and influence them to a certain extent. While there are other influential factors in an individual’s life such as bad company, society, social media and one’s own personal choices which plays a major role in shaping youth’s mentality. No parents want their children to be criminals and they always show them virtuous path. Hence it would be wrong to say that only good parenting skills can help reduce the crime rates of young offenders.