In the future, nobody will buy printed newspapers or books because they will be able to read everything they want online without paying. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

Due to the rapid technological development, it is predicted that people will no longer read and get news from paper-based sources. Although there is no doubt that e- books and reading news via the Internet is getting more and more popular, I strongly disagree with the idea that it will be the only way of getting information, nor that it will be free of charge. On the one hand, there are numerous advantages of using e- books as well as web platforms to get updated on the latest news. First and foremost, it has ecological benefits. It is generally known, that tremendous amounts of trees are cut down every day in order to produce paper. Furthermore, various chemicals are used for printing books and newspapers. Hence, reading from online based sources has a positive impact on the environment. Additionally, it is more convenient and cheaper for users. As people will no longer need to wait until books or newspapers are printed and ready for sale, instead they will get access in just one click as soon as it is published. Furthermore, with an e-book, a person can store several books on just one devise, instead of dedicating an entire bookshelf. However, I firmly believe, that despite being published online, not all of those materials will not be distributed for free. To illustrate that, spreading books or news on online servers will not make any profit. Therefore, writers will put the same price on PDF versions of their works. So the public will have to pay regardless they read through the web or from printed options. Online news outlets might introduce a subscription-based system, where people will be obliged to transfer a certain amount of money monthly to be able to read new articles. Furthermore, not everyone will be able to read from online sources. For instance, my grandmother can operate neither a smartphone nor a computer. Moreover, blind people can only read printed copies, as they require everything to be written in a specific format. To sum up, despite the increasing popularity of web-based books and newspapers, it is highly doubtful that they will completely displace printed options.