Water scarcity is a serious problem in many countries. What are the causes of this?and what solutions can be done by individuals and the government?

In today’s times, the shortage of water supply is the most serious problem every nation is facing. The first half of the essay will state the reasons for this problem and in the second half, suggest some solutions to overcome this issue by citing few examples. There are many factors responsible for the scarcity of drinking water. Out of those, the most prominent one is the misuse of water by humans. This has been observed in many households especially in urban areas where they believe that water supply is adequate and waste it without thinking about the consequences, for example, they irresponsibly leave their taps running for a long time which wastes a lot of water. Second is, factories like manufacturing or production which are established nearby rivers or lakes, contaminate this natural resource by excreting their harmful waste into it. However, with the combined efforts of citizens and the government of the country, water can be saved. As people are not fully aware of the water crisis, they are wasting it without giving a rational thought. This can be altered by organizing public awareness campaigns which will change their outlook and boost them to work towards this cause that is saving the water. Furthermore, to control the waste coming out of the industries, the government must make the rules more stringent and also, keep checking the purity of water sources at frequent intervals. To conclude, although water has become scarce due to the wastage created by the society and also industrial units to a larger extent, this could be changed by giving an insight to people about the significance of saving water and also, with the help of the government, by taking strict actions against those businesses who are polluting the water.