Large companies use sports events to promote their products. Some people think this has a negative impact on sports. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Nowadays, different organizations create awareness of their products using various means. One of the ways they do this is by leveraging on sport events. Although, some argue that it has a negative effect, I strongly disagree because these companies sponsor and promote such sport programs. Most sport events require a great amount of finances allocated to in order for them to be successful. It is no doubt that more than 50% are sponsored by big organizations. Even though, multinational corporations use this in turn to promote their products, in my opinion it is of mutual benefit to the organizers of these events. For instance, DSTV is known as one of the biggest sponsors of the world fifa games and are now to contribute about 1 billion dollars each year. The more big companies use sports events for adverts, the more finances generated. Furthermore, these cooperations help to create awareness of the events sport events in return. They create a viewers platform and promote different types of sports on their products, so when people purchase their goods or see them in stores, them become unconsciously aware of them. Some even go as far as making souvenirs in the shapes of the sports. For example, the last World Cup, Coca-cola company used stickers with the inscription FIFA 2020 on their soda bottles instead of the conventional ones. The more people saw or used these products, the more conscious they became of the sport activities. To conclude, using sport events as an opportunity to promote products by big institutions is more beneficial as they finance these programs as well as promote them. Without their supports they most likely would not be as successful as we see today.