Some people believe that university admission should be given to all school leavers, while others think otherwise. Discuss both views and state your opinion.

Education has long been seen as the foundation for development and success. With the general public’s increasing awareness of the importance of education, some have suggested that access to tertiary education be granted universally, while others hold the opposite belief. This essay aims to elaborate on both of these views and present my personal opinion that university admission should be made based on clear standards and requirements. An equal chance of higher education offers key benefits for secondary graduates and society as a whole. Chief among them is a diverse academic environment. The reason for this rests on the students ’ range of abilities, interests, and socioeconomic backgrounds, which could not be attained with limiting access for a certain population of school leavers. This creates an inclusive environment where students can reap the benefits of social cohesion and the introduction to various perspectives. Furthermore, offering admission to all secondary graduates can contribute to societal prosperity. This is because tertiary education equips students with the rudimentary skills and professional knowledge for future career path. By admitting students regardless of their academic abilities and cultural backgrounds, universities can solidify their roles in producing an educated workforce, which further boosts economic growth and national wealth. However, I would argue that universal access to higher education hinders students ’ potential development. To be more specific, tertiary education ’s elite image among students has successfully spurred them on to excel academically. Therefore, making the prestige of university attendance available for everyone deters students from striving for academic excellence, causing a significant reduction in students caliber due to a lack of competition. Most importantly, academic readiness is probably the greatest concern. Secondary graduation is based on a sufficient level of curriculum completion, which lacks a general assessment of the skill set vital for tertiary education. As a result, shortlisting capable students warrants the establishment of clear standards and specific ways of testing such as interviews and academic records to ensure students ’ necessary skills to encounter academic challenges. In conclusion, despite education ’s universal significance, I subscribe to the belief that university administrators should not grant admission to all school leavers, but single out suitable and qualified ones based on particular requirements and conditions.