Young people these days are more interested in improving the way they look than in developing their social skills. What do you think are the causes of this problem? What measures could be taken to solve/reduce it?

Nowadays, the young generation is more attracted to increasing their looks than enhancing their social skills. This has happened because of the influence of social media. There are many ways to solve this circumstance, for instance, by reducing the usage of gadgets and joining social clubs. In this era, most children have their own gadgets. Gadgets can be helpful if kids can use them wisely, for instance for finding study materials and looking for new skills. Unfortunately, there are many social media apps in smartphones that make kids want to download, such as TikTok and Instagram. These two apps contribute a lot to children’s perspectives. Many influencers from these apps share about appearances and fashion. They are paid by brands to promote those things to make kids aware of their looks. Kids, who are contaminated, with the influencers, will buy those brand items. Moreover, some kids addicted to following fashion trends rather than socialising with others. There are many strategies to solve this problem. Firstly, parents can make regulations for kids to stop using their gadgets. For example, children must not use their smartphones on the weekend and at dinner time. This rule will make kids have to talk with their families since they have no phone in their hands. Another method is enrolling them on social clubs, such as church communities and musical communities. Through communities, they will do some activities with other members as a team. They have to build relationships with other members to be a solid team. This approach will bring them to new experiences and new environments. In conclusion, social media affects the children’s perspective to focus on their looks rather than social skills. Therefore, parents can try many techniques to mitigate this problem such as rules of gadget handling and social club membership.