Some people think that they can make as much noise as they want, while others think that the amount of noise people make should be strictly controlled.

With the increasing level of population density in cities, it is much easier for us to hear the noises produced by our neighbours and construction sites. Although some of the people are of the opinion that they have the freedom to make uncontrolled amount of noises, I strongly insist that we impose strict regulation on any noisy activities. Admittedly, there are some people who are selfish and inconsiderate, caring only for benefits of their own. They simply ignore the adverse effects of noises on individuals and the society. Therefore, they may think it is completely normal to have their apartment decorated or to hold a party with speakers playing music at full volume at late night. However, never should we underestimate the impacts of noises. Obviously, noises disturb peoples' basic daily activities such as sleep, study and work. This reduces the efficiency of workers and limits the cultivation of talents as workers and students cannot concentrate on what they are doing. As a result, there is slowdown in the development of the whole society. Furthermore, frequent exposure to noises may result in impaired hearing or,in the worse cases, hearing loss. Such disabilities generate inconvenience and difficulty to perform daily tasks for individuals. In addition, increasing population with hearing problems may force the government to raise expenditure on healthcare to build facilities for hearing-impaired individuals. This involves opportunity cost as it could have been used to improve the quality of education or for other purposes. To sum up, due to the detrimental impacts of noises on people and development of the society, I support that we introduce various regulations to limit noises strictly.