Nowadays, news companies spend a lot of money covering international news. However, local news is more relevant to people's lives and should receive more funding.' To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

These days, both online or offline news forums are rapidly increasing people reach. Such companies spend a big proportion of their annual budget in covering global information although, for the people, news coming from their neighbourhood is more applicable. Thus, there should be more funds allocated to community reporting. I strongly agree that such allotment of funds would be more beneficial to the society. Firstly, the residents of a city or state should be well-informed about the current affairs in their proximity, like, criminal activities, upcoming sports opportunities, job fairs, etc. Moreover, if they would know about a suspect in their area, people might stay extra cautious and would keep their family safe. Although unforseen situations are not in anyone's control, but being vigilant might mitigate the risk. For example, there has been an incident in Japan, where a local news reporter spread a news about a kidnapper who abducted 2 children in their area. As a result, other families got alarmed and immediately requested for special police force assistance. Another point to consider is that extra funding on area specific reporting will probably result in boosting the moral of youngsters, when their achievements would be featured on a public portal. Furthermore, this recognition would help growing children in becoming more confident about their skillset. Consequently, they would enhance their passion, which they could present globally in future. For instance, an Olympic medal winner in Tennis from India shared in her recent interview, that she grew up watching a local game on the television, which always motivated her to practice more and strive towards a goal. In conclusion, I completely agree that there are more benefits of regional reporting for a country in comparison to a heavy focus on global broadcasting.