Today, the high sales of popular consumer goods reflect the power of advertising and not the real needs of the society in which they are sold. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

The current trend of increased sales of common consumer goods signify the influence of advertising and not neccessarily the real requirements of the society in which the goods are sold.In my opinion,I agree with the statement that the current increased sales are due to the influence of advertising. The influenceof technology has increased the sale of common goods. This is due to increased internet connectivitity which has a dime of dozen effect on the greater population today even to the remote villages in the society. For instance,the availability of hand set smart phones which has made advertising easy to reach a good number of the population.Technology therefore,has increased the large coverage of the advertising. Moreover, advertisment tend to paint a one sided picture of positive side of a good, like the negative side effect of an advertisment will not be exposed thus influencing the consumers to consumers to consume a good without having a second thought of the side effects. For example, side effects of over the counter medicines are not normaly mentioned. Therefore, advertisement not only capture the attention but also influence the consumer judgement on buying the goods that are not of importance to the needs. In conclusion,technology has increased the level of advertising influence for goods consumption increased rather than the needs of the society; influence of advertising the positive side has also lead to impulse consumption of goods instead of the needs of the society. Therefore,advertisement has a greater impact to the people allowing impulse cosumption of goods rather than the impotant needs