Public transport should be funded by the government so that it can be free for people who use it. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is believed that the government should make the public transport like buses or underground be free for the public. I agree with this statement. The primary reason is that using public transports freely could reduce the use of private cars. It is common to see that traffic congestion caused by the driving of a large number of private cars is deteriorating, which impairs the convenience of people’s daily lives. For example, people have to spend a long time commuting, and they will not have enough time to eat breakfast or dedicating to their works, affecting social productivity. However, making public transport be free could encourage more people to use it, which can reduce the number of cars on the road, alleviating such detrimental consequences. Furthermore, using more public transport will reduce the carbon dioxide emission from the car exhaust, improve the air condition, and deal with global warming. Another reason is that it could stimulate economic growth. People are likely to visit other cities or countries frequently because public transport like trains is free. For instance, it is undeniable that visiting other places will generate consumption, such as paying for the accommodation, food and souvenir, which will improve the local people’s income, contributing to the government’s tax revenue. In the long run, governments will have more budgets to invest in different industries and the construction of various infrastructures, boosting economic development. In conclusion, free public transports funded by governments will bring lots of benefits, such as improving people’s working efficiency, alleviating global warming and benefiting the economy.