Some people feel that the design of newly constructed buildings in big cities should be controlled by governments. Others believe those who finance the construction of a building should be free to design it as they see fit. Discuss both these views and give your opinion. Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Since the advent of modern ways and technics of building complex constructions such as the Opera theatre in Sydney, people have been creating various amazing buildings. Although some citizens suppose that investors of the construction of a building should obtain freedom in creativity as they finance all expenditures, I believe that these activities ought to be controlled by the government in order to maintain the image of the city. On the one hand, it is widely considered that the owner and the investor can create whatever they want; however, this is the biggest misconception, as the style of the buildings should not vary considerably, otherwise it causes chaos and randomness which lead to reducing the status of the city. For instance, the shopping mall in the shape of a pyramid was built in the historic avenue in Petrozavodsk in 2016. As a result, it might be considered as an irrelevant building which made downtown less attractive for tourists. Hence, the building of any construction should be coordinated by the government. On the other hand, people who decide to finance the creation of architecture should design them according to their preferences as they cover all costs. This freedom of imagination contributed to the creation of various widespread famous constructions such as the Dubai Mall in the UAE; therefore, the financing group should get all rights to choose the design. In light of the thoughts elaborated upon, I would like to conclude that the government should control the construction of new buildings in order to prevent arising architectural chaos in towns, despite the ideas and preferences of investors.