The best way to resolve the international environmental problems is to increase the cost of fuel. To what extend do you agree or disagree?

It is true that one of the most effective methods to tackle environmental issues is to increase fuel prices. While I believe that it can bring tangible benefits to the environment, there are many approaches that governments could adopt to solve those problems. There are some advantages that can not be disputed when governments introduce laws to increase the cost of fuel. Firstly, when the fuel is exorbitantly expensive, people would lessen their total amounts of using a private vehicle. This not only leads to a reduction in carbon dioxide emissions but also saves a kind of energy that is being exhausted. Secondly, this may encourage people to try to use alternative sources of energy. Those renewable energy sources are boundless and eco-friendly, so they is not likely to cause some environmental issues such as climate change or polluted air. However, Government should make more attempts to solve those serious problems. They could allocate more resources on exploring new alternative energy resources and inventing new vehicles and devices operated by them. Moreover, authorities should enact laws to reduce their prices, so that every citizen in society could afford to buy them. Finally, there should have sustainable development in the economy in those countries. This includes some methods such as marine conservation, halting the spread of deserts, and the reclamation of agricultural land. In conclusion, environment-related problems are becoming serious, governments must take steps to tackle them as soon as possible.