Some people believe that sport is an essential part of school life for children, while others feel it should be purely optional. Discuss these opposing views and give your own opinion.

In modern life, health is the most important thing, as it has attracted many people's concern these days. According to some scientists, a sedentary lifestyle causes various health problems. However, the sport continues to be a controversial topic in the school curriculum. There are valid opinions on both sides, which I will consider now. Some people point out that sport is a waste of time since time could be better spent on academic activities such as test preparation, extra classes, or class projects. In addition, it might be said that it is unwise to force children to do many types of physical activities that they have no interest in. Compulsory sport at school objectors also adds that the sports industry sets bad examples for future generations since sport includes drugging, corruption, and scandals. On the other hand, there are certain plus points of playing sports children need to consider. The major benefit of sports is that it helps children's physical development and keeps them fit and healthy. Secondly, doing sports forges skills that will be later required. For instance, the competitive spirit, group working skills that are important in life could be learned through sports games. Moreover, there are many successful entrepreneurs today who excel at school sports, such as Whole Foods CEO Walter Robb, who was a football star at Stanford University. In conclusion, I feel that sports ’ physical and mental positive impacts outweigh its possible negative impacts, so sports in school should be compulsory. Therefore, students should harmoniously combine acquiring academic education and joining sport at school.