The best way to reduce traffic accidents is to raise the age limit for younger drivers and to lower the age limit for elderly ones. Do you agree or disagree?

The number of road accidents is increasing nowadays. A proposition to solve this issue is to put age limits on both younger and older drivers. While this solution is very appealing to others, I disagree that it will be the best option as there are interventions that could be used to mend this problem and are better explained with relevant examples. Firstly, implementing better driving programs can help younger drivers to prevent traffic incidents. One is to strengthen driving education, including defensive driving techniques, which was proven to lower the cases of road accidents among teenagers in western countries. Another proposal from southeast Asians is to limit the time that the youngsters drive, especially at night time, as more accidents happen during this time. This was very effective as it also lowered the rate of teenage deaths due to vehicular accidents in just two years of implementation. Secondly, there are several ways governments can allow seniors to drive safely. An example would be inventing cars that are designed for elderly driving. This would mean that the car would be higher so that older people need not bend or stoop down and interior design is made to accommodate their brittle bones and sensitive skin. In addition, governments could also impose yearly health and eye checkups among the seniors to have a better view of who qualifies as a safe driver. Clinics then can present health cards that the older population can show as proof that it is still safe for them to be on the road. In conclusion, although cutting the age limits for both young and old drivers seems to be the best idea to lower rates of traffic accidents, I still believe that there are better solutions which can encourage these age groups to drive safely.