Modern cultures around the world have become similar as compared to the past. What are the reasons? Is it a positive or negative development?

Cultural differences across the globe have been diminishing in recent past years. Predominantly there are two important reasons for this change such as globalisation and technological advancements like the internet. In my opinion, it is beneficial and a positive trend for humankind as it would improve relationships and bring everyone on the same page. Technological improvements over the last decade have helped the world to become a small global village. Globalisation among all nations with increased tourism and immigration is one of the critical causes for this change. Travelling to other countries has become so easy in this contemporary world, for example, reduced travel costs, visas on arrival at many destination countries have helped the world to become a global village. Adding to this, needless to say, technological disruptions are helping the majority of people to know the cultures of other nations on fingertips. Social media websites, for instance, such as Facebook, Instagram have enabled netizens to understand the wardrobe and food cultures of neighbourhood countries. This trend absolutely has become a positive aspect for many to help themselves to accustom and settle in other countries without any major hurdles. To be more precise, people are able to understand the behavioural patterns of food, dressing and language beforehand, therefore, there is no need to learn different cultures and traditions of other nations. A Japanese delicious recipe, for example, Sushi has gathered so much attention and interest of people, indeed people in India are very fond of this, moreover, many people know how to cook this, has helped people to immigrate to Japan and settle there. Bringing the entire world onto a single thread has improved relationships between people, and eventually countries. In conclusion, similarities between the advanced cultures have increased during these times. There are important reasons behind this change in the form of globalisation and the internet. I strongly opine that this change is not only good for individuals but also to improve relationships between geographies.