In some countries, young people are encouraged to work or travel for a year between finishing high school and starting university studies. Discuss some of the advantages and disadvantages for young people who decide to do this.

With the growing popularity of taking a gap year, some people believe that it is better for young people to commence university immediately after finishing high school, while others think that having a gap year will help young people improve their self development. In my opinion, the benefits of taking a gap year for young people outweigh the drawbacks, for the following reasons. To begin with, in terms of personal development, having a gap year has certain advantages. Firstly, young adults can escalate their success motivation because a gap year reinvigorates them and leaves them full of motivation to start their university life. It actually contributes to their grades improvement. Furthermore, young people learn new perspectives from other countries' cultures and attain global understanding while they are taking a gap year abroad. In addition, a gap year provides opportunities for young adults to learn soft skills needed in the workplace such as cross-cultural communication skills, problem-solving skills, and adaptability skills. In addition, a gap year may have certain drawbacks since it necessitates extensive planning. First of all, young people are encouraged to prepare extra financial planning during the gap year because they have to contemplate their gap year budget such as cost of transportation, accomodation, and daily needs. Another problem is that young adults have to prepare for extra academic planning because they will lose academic momentum while taking a gap year and tend to find it difficult to get back to an academic schedule after such a long break. In conclusion, despite some of the drawbacks of taking a gap year such as preparing extra planning in terms of finance and academics, I believe that the advantages of taking a gap year outweigh its disadvantages. The benefits include aiding young people in expanding their global