Today, more and more tourists are visiting places where conditions are difficult, such as the Sahara desert or the Antarctic. What are the benefits and disadvantages four tourists who visit such places?

In recent years, more and more tourists are visiting harsh and challenging places like the Sahara desert or the Antarctic. Although these adventures can be thrilling and educational, there are significant risks involved in a person's life. One major benefit of travelling to places like the Sahara desert or the Antarctic is the opportunity to explore diverse cultures. Moreover, individuals can gain invaluable transferable experience from the survival techniques that are being used by the natives. Furthermore, this broadens the individual's worldview and enables them to handle unpleasant and intimidating situations more effectively. In addition to this, some people enjoy pushing their limits by forcing them out of their comfort zones and trips to these regions are perfect for them. Surviving harsh conditions, for instance, provides them with a sense of accomplishment, which in turn, significantly boosts their self-esteem. However, trips to these destinations are unconventional. Therefore, travelling to these places is often expensive and requires careful planning. Moreover, these expenses primarily include costly permits, specialised clothing and experienced guides. Additionally, another prime disadvantage of visiting these destinations is the associated health and security risks, that could lead to potential fatal consequences. These travels also pose environmental risks as large amounts of tourists can disturb and alter wildlife of the Antarctica and these visits can end up forming landfills all over the place. In conclusion, travelling and surviving in these regions can be rewarding due to the unique experience that cannot be possible through traditional trips. However, concerns for instance, high costs, health and security dangers and negative environmental impact should be considered.