Employers nowadays put more emphasis on social skills. Some people believe that social skills are important in addition to good qualifications for job success. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Today, workers have the tendency to focus more on soft skills than on degrees. While there is no denying the benefits of social skills in the workplace, I believe that employers should have excellent academic knowledge and qualifications. On the one hand, social skills play a curial role in hiring decisions. The first advantage of social skills is that workers enable to have good relations with colleagues and managers. According to a survey of Trent university, employers having the strength of building relationships are more likely to get promotions in their careers. In addition, good social skills can facilitate teamwork. Because of the demands of some jobs such as advertisement or sales, workers sometimes have to work with people they do not know. Introverted people who are not good at communication skills cannot work effectively with a team. On the other hand, high qualifications are equally essential to get high achievement in a job. In a competitive job market, workers holding good qualifications can stand a better chance of landing employed in high-paid jobs since they have proven themselves to have good academic knowledge. Furthermore, those with academic knowledge have the foundation to further develop their careers. Employers always want employees to create high value for their companies. For instance, in Vietnam, in most the big corporations, 60% of managers hold master’s degrees or PhD from famous universities. In conclusion, while social skills offer some advantages for employees, I think those good qualifications are the foundation for anyone to advance in their jobs.