Some people believe that it is good to share as much information as possible in scientific research, business and the academic world. Others believe that some information is too important or too valuable to be shared freely. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion. Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

A lot of new research is being conducted simultaneously across all the fields in the world currently. A lot of individuals are of the opinion that sharing material and knowledge is in benefit for mankind whereas others reckon some data is too specific to be shared in public. This essay will discuss both the arguments in detail and emphasize why the availability of free knowledge is important. Information is great power by which we can benefit the whole world. The availability of free data will benefit a large community. For instance, a candidate can come up with an innovative idea or solution on the reference of the previously available data. Another reason for this is, there are a plethora of nations that are underdeveloped or not having enough funds for buying intelligence. In such instances, with the availability of unpaid information, the economy of such nations can grow exponentially. However, sharing information openly can have some demerits as well. People could use it for their personal gains or attain power over others. For illustration, one could easily use the open report available and publish it in his name which is illegal. Another example is people using the data in order to create specific objects which could be dangerous for others. In conclusion, data being open source has some merits like global education, connection growing across communities and demerits like plagiarism, personal gain. I think in my opinion, information is a really good invention of humans and should be constructively used at its maximum. The demerits are too small in comparison to the merits and thus can be easily handled by setting some specific government organizations.