Nowadays animal experiments are widely used to develop new medicines and to test the safety of other products. Some people argue that these experiments should be banned because it is morally wrong to cause animals to suffer, while others are in favour of them because of their benefits to humanity. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

It is acknowledgeable that medicines and other products are routinely tested on animals before they are cleared for human use. In my view, while I tend towards the viewpoint that animal testing is morally wrong, I would have to support a limited amount of animal experiments for the development of medicines. On the one hand, there are clear ethical arguments against animal experimentation. To use a common example of this practice, laboratory mice may be given an illness so that the effectiveness of a new drug can be measured in place. Opponents of such research argue that humans have no right to subject creatures to this kind of trauma and that the lives of all creatures should be respected. Moreover, they claim that the benefits to humans do not justify the suffering caused and that scientists should need alternative methods of research. On the other hand, reliable alternatives to animal experimentation may not always be available within a short duration of time. Supporters of the adoption of animals for medical analysis believe that a certain amount of the suffering on the part of mice or rats can be justified if human lives are saved. As an illustration, opponents of such research might feel differently if a member of their own families needed a medical treatment that had been developed through the use of animal experiments. Personally, I completely agree with the banning of animal testing for non-medical products, but I insist that there may be a necessary evil where new drugs and medical procedures are concerned. In conclusion, it seems to me that it might be wrong to ban testing on animals for vital medical research until equally effective alternatives have been developed.