In some countries an increasing number of people are suffering from health problems as a result of eating too much fast food. It is therefore necessary for government to impose a higher tax on this kind of food. Do you agree?

In the recent decades, the amount of men and women with of health conditions associated to fast foods has increased dramatically in many nations. It is argued that states should charge fast food companies more tax because of their reposibilities of this situation. This essay totally agrees with that statement because these illnesses cost the health service too much money and increasing the price of junk food would reduce the demand for it. Obesity related illnesses cost the taxpayer billions of dollar every year. People who eat too much fast food more likely to suffer from costly diseases associated with being overweight. As a result, they have to go to hospital more regularly for treatment and this puts a strain on the health service. (explanation) For example, a large proportion of the United Kingdon’s National Health Service budget is spent on preventable, obesity-related diseases, such as heart disease and diabetes Another reason why fast food restaurants should pay extra tax is to raise the cost in order to decrease demand. Any extra tax would be added to the normal price of the food, and as prices go up, fewer people will be able to afford to buy fatty food. Therefore, this would reduce the amount of junk food people eat and the result would be a heathier nation. The UK government, for instance, introduced a ‘sugar tax ’ on sugary soft drinks in an attempt to fight the obesity epidemic. In conclusion, many people consuming fast food develop health issues and it is essential to put higher tax because of the high pressure on national health budget and decreasing the fast food demand