Many people think that governments should invest more in public transportation instead of building new roads. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Many people believe that public transportation should be invested in instead of building new roads. From my perspective, I strongly agree with this statement because public transportation has more benefits than new roads, and spending the government’s budget on new road construction is not worthwhile. One of the most important reasons why this is the case is that public transportation produces more advantages than focusing on constructing new roads. If the government decides to invest in setting up public transportation systems, the population will probably obtain a wide range of benefits which can improve their quality of life. For example, nowadays many developed countries are encountering traffic congestion issues due to the increasing number of cars. As a result, if public transportation is developed with support from the government, it will possibly reduce traffic congestion because people will have alternative ways to commute and may use public transportation more frequently to avoid traffic problems. Another reason to support my opinion is that building new roads might not be a good investment because not everyone will receive benefits from it. For instance, people who own vehicles will commute more conveniently if the government provides high-quality roads. However, people who do not have any vehicles might believe that paying money to build or improve roads is not necessary. Therefore, public transportation is more important for them. In conclusion, it is undoubtedly true that governments should spend more on public transportation instead of building new roads because it provides greater benefits and supports people who do not own personal vehicles.