Studies show that many criminals have a low level of education. For this reason, some people believe that the best way to reduce crime is to educate people in prison so they could get a good job once they are released.

Misconception and lack of research about the criminal world have been revolving in our society for decades. People, today are convinced that the offenders who have been imprisoned for their misdeed have a scope to reinvent themselves in the community by giving them a chance to educating them in the prison which will benefit them to obtain a job once they are out; in turn reducing the number of crimes in the society. I disagree that limited or no education may cause a person to be a criminal and believe that it has nothing to do with the knowledge gained from schooling or at-home education. Although I disagree that education has nothing to do with the decrease in the number of crimes, I see why some people may think that it is essential for them along with society. Firstly, it would be due to misconceptions they have that only non-educated people commit transgression. To illustrate this, doctors with a doctorate degree have a personality that they would never commit any offence where they portray to be well mannered as well as have good morals and ethics. Secondly, people believe that offenders do wrong deeds because of a lack of money for their survival. For instance, a person from a underprivileged background are often uneducated as non of their family members can pay for education which leads to no job and later poverty. To survive one needs food, water and shelter so they think that lack of such amenities causes them to commit a crime. Consequently, people are convinced that education and jobs will help reduce crime in society. Research has been proven that it is the state of mind which plays a vital role in being a criminal rather than one’s education. Education is not the answer for solving crime in society; however, one needs to be mindfully stable. Despite, doctors graduating from a renowned university evidence show that there are a number of culprits in the jails for committing crimes like for example, once a doctor was mal-practising in a hospital by selling body organs for a lesser amount. Furthermore, one doesn’t need to be educated to get a job as there are many fields that require skills. For instance, farming in India is usually done by skilled workers who are un-educated. I believe that the best way to overcome the crime is to help the criminals by appointing psychologists to treat them by understanding the reason behind such actions together with providing them with essential survival aids. To conclude, education is not a solution to minimise crime in society rather providing them with the necessary help will not only make them a better people but will also help them to distinguish right from wrong.