Some people say that the best way to improve public health is by increasing the number of sports facilities. Others, however , say that this would have little effect on public health and that other measures are required. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

Nowadays, the population with obesity is constantly growing day by day. It is argued that the significant factor is a sedentary lifestyle. However, others believe that a series of factors like awareness and healthy eating have a more substantial impact. From my point of view, the balance between both initiatives is the key to tackle this problem. Firstly, it is known that obesity has a strong link with a sedentary lifestyle. Sometimes, our busy lives do not give us spare time to practice any sports, especially if you have to go to the gym near your work or home. Instead, people prefer to avoid the traffic and rest for another day of work. For instance, simple changes in the common areas like running or bicycle paths or even small spaces with public weight training equipment help people practice and leave the sedentary lifestyle. Thus, it is proved that cities which invested in constructions in such areas had a vital decrease of numbers of people with overweight. Secondly, a recent study regarding a healthy lifestyle shows that most people do not know that eating processed foods or do not have a balanced diet, in the long term, can lead to obesity. Some initiatives like campaigns teaching the citizens how to have a balanced diet showed promising results. For example, in São Paulo, the government invested last year in schools, hospitals, and sports centers, in an extensive campaign explaining how a balanced diet can prevent diseases. Therefore, both initiatives, if combined, can deliver better results. In conclusion, to guarantee a healthy lifestyle is a combination between awareness and practice. Simple investments in small sports areas encourage people to practice sports and leave a passive condition. In addition, a balanced diet is a perfect combination to have a healthy lifestyle in the long term. In the future, the governments can support their population by providing a good quality of information and structure. Most of the investments can be to prevent diseases and not to remedy them.