You should spend about 40 minutes on this question. Some people believe that sport is an essential part of school life for children, while others feel it should be purely optional. Discuss these opposing views and give your own opinion. You should give reasons for your answer, and include ideas and examples from your own knowledge and experience. Write at least 250 words

Sports being an essential part of the school or purely optional has always been a topic of discussion amongst people with opposite thoughts on this topic which we will be discussed further in upcoming paragraphs. Life during school should be based on the curriculum that there is the overall development of students. Most of the sports activities bring competition and requires mental and physical strength which makes students strong both ways. Also through sports,there is good learning how a team works and provide a lesson of unity to young humans. As we can see there is more obesity among youth due to lack of physical activities and changed lifestyle. Participating in activities like running, weight lifting increases body strength and less prone to obesity. On the Other hand, some people think that sports activities are a wastage of time for some students who have no interest in sports -related activities. Students who have to pay fees have to work and they find such activities useless. Also, it is highly possible that some students like to play at home or after school as professionals so they don’t need physical activities at school and should be exempted from mandatory sports action. In my opinion, Sports should be optional at school for students who are professional and mandatory for students who don’t participate professionally for overall development. Sports is for the benefit of students physical and mental health and should not be mandatory but optional so that they enjoy it instead of taking it as a workload.