The most important aim of science should be to improve people’s lives. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

Nowadays, science and technology have played an important role in our daily lives. Some people think the most important aim of science is to assist the public with living better, but others believe its aim is to explore the unknown. In my view, I completely agree that the goal of scientific endeavours is to enhance the well-being of individuals. Granted, there may be some benefits to making technological advancement that is not relevant to our livelihoods. Firstly, it is may important for scientists to understand unknown knowledge which is far away from our existence. This is predominately because achievements from this research may help humanity to find a new way to live, such as migrating to other planets. Secondly, a significant result in these areas may be also an excellent opportunity to inspire nations to support scientific projects. However, reaching the above conclusion does not necessarily mean that the importance of science for living can be ignored. For one thing, there is a consensus among both the general public and scientists that scientific research should contribute to society, which implies that the primary goal of innovation is to enhance the quality of life for the public. For another thing, the funding of governments is limited, so to support some projects which are close to our social activity is more effective. In this way, citizens can have a better standard of living with less revenue spent. Take China, for example, residentiaries in this country have improved their living level which is close to developed countries in many areas. The main reason is its government spend a lot of money on scientific fields which are linked to people’s routine lives. To summarize, although there are many factors that may force scientists to explore the unknown, I still believe improving people’s living quality is a significant aim of science considering the essentials of science and its economic effectiveness.