In the developed world, average life expectancy is increasing. What problems will this cause for individuals and society? Suggest some measures that could be taken to reduce the impact of ageing populations.

In this day and age, more and more countries are revealing the increasing ageing population in light of developments in technology. From my perspective, this demographic status can trigger numerous issues not only for individuals but also for the community as a whole. Nevertheless, we can overcome these problems by several approaches which will be mentioned in this essay. As regards the problems resulting from having a greater proportion of elderly on the population pyramid, the first one is for governments to provide more financial support for old people for different purposes, namely healthcare services and pension, which are essential for them to meet their daily demands and take care of themselves. This might put a strain on the national budget and hinder the central officials from using them for more serious problems, such as diseases or poverty. Additionally, some senior citizens require the care of their offspring as they get older, which could be a nuisance for the youngsters. Young people nowadays can not even crave enough time from their hectic schedule to rest, let alone take care of their parents. This puts them under greater pressure, which leads to several mental illnesses such as stress and depression. In order to deal with the issues that the ageing population has caused, there are some actions that people can take to minimize the adverse impacts of it. A great idea is for the government to increase the retirement age of workers. Not only will this reduce the annual economic aid for the elderly, but it also allows people to contribute more to the overall development of the nation. Next, we should consider nursing homes as the optimal way for both old people and the youngsters to enjoy their lives the most. In the nursing homes, the elderly can improve their spiritual lives, given that they have friends who are always willing to spend their time with them, and their health is tracked regularly as well as taken care of delicately. In conclusion, it is undeniable that the domination of an ageing population renders serious problems to the citizens and the community. However, these issues could be solved by putting a higher retirement age and utilizing nursing homes.