Some people believe that it is good to share as much information as possible in scientific research, business and the academic world. Others believe that some information is too important or too valuable to be shared freely. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

People tend to have controversial debates about whether we should share a plenty of academic knowledge or not. While some persons think this action could bring huge benefits to society and communities, I personally think it is better if we deliberately share our valuable information. On the one hand, free sharing of information in academic world contributes many undeniable values to academic communities. One of obvious meanings is that more people in developing countries have more opportunities to get free access to read some publications or other's research, which they are not able to afford for authors. Therefore, this sharing provides scientists more perspectives and experience to support their future findings. Furthermore, sharing information or knowledge also bring back numerous values to us. For example, some KOLs or entrepreneurs post their books or experience accumulated after many years on social media without asking for subscriptions or payments. This does not only help them to enrich their writing skills but also link them to larger networks with people in the same field. As a result, they were paid off with possible contracts or any collaborations in the future. Illegally On the other hand, I believe that we should consider carefully and share our achievements selectively due to several reasons. First and foremost is the security of our private and personal information that could be leaked easily and used by some hackers to earn money or deceive others. For instance, many project proposal or presentations of scientists are faked or advertised on social media by some individuals to charge fees illegally because scientists share freely to a community and are unable to control others to copy or modify with their products. Secondly, the potential risk of free information is unfair to many colleges or institutions which has to pay monthly fee for journals or publishers. That explains why in developed countries, universities and companies are required to buy memberships for their employees and not share to others so that it can ensure the equity for everyone to attain knowledge. In conclusion, although sharing a large amount of information has some pros in some ways, it seems to me that we should select and protect our effort with all the things we share.