Modern cultures around the world have become similar as compared to the past. What are the reasons? Is it a positive or negative development?

The emergence of the internet and technology has blessed human beings in various ways. In comparison to the past, there is not much difference in the cultures of different countries across the globe. In this essay, I will discuss the factors causing this and explain why I believe this is a positive change. There are mainly two reasons behind this huge change in the cultural aspect. First of all, nowadays the wide availability of the internet has made the world confined in the palm of a man. A number of social media, for example, Youtube, Facebook and Twitter have been the mode of entertainment for many, who are getting highly influenced by seeing various content from other nations in these channels. Adding to this, an increase in international travel has also contributed to the change in cultures globally. In recent days, people are travelling abroad more than in the past and seeing a new culture in terms of clothing, eating habits and even lifestyles, which they are adopting very eagerly. This certainly leaves no difference in terms of cultures around the world. In my opinion, such changes in cultural perception are definitely positive. Because with time changes are absolutely inevitable in society, as old rules and norms become outdated. By this wide exposure to the cultures of other nations through the internet or whatsoever, the developing countries are getting to know the new cultural practice of developed nations and following them. An article published in The Hindu posits that, in recent years, the literacy rate among Pakistani women have hiked up to 30% as they are inspired to study and work like that of western countries. Indeed, this is a remarkable impact in a positive way. In conclusion, the modern world is a small village now having cultural influence from every corner of the globe, thanks to technological development. Such changes have not only inspired people to adopt modern perception and grow but also resulted in several affirmative developments in terms of social norms and rules.