Many manufactured food and drink products contain high levels of sugar, which causes many health problems. Sugary products should be made more expensive to encourage people to consume less sugar. Do you agree or disagree?

Many individuals say that consuming sugary products can negatively affect human health. Therefore, governments should increase costs to restrict this consumption in the public. Although I understand why some advocate the aforementioned view, I assert that this argument is not an ideal solution to tackle the problem. Some argue that if the high authorities yearn for healthy societies, they should increase the prices of sugary foods and drinks to curb consumption. One possible explanation for this belief is that the adversaries may think people can buy products containing high sugar levels without difficulty. Indeed, foods like soft beverages or sweet cakes are inexpensive. They are also sold in almost every convenience store, rendering them popular and accessible to people from many walks of life, such as children, students, or even adults. Another reason reinforcing the perspective above is that consuming sugary products can impair well-being. Individuals having the habit of overeating sugar are prone to severe complications such as obesity and heart attack, hence reducing the quality of their lives. Nevertheless, I maintain the view that the plan to restrict sugar consumption by increasing food prices will not be effective. The first highlight is that this intention can negatively affect societies. It will be a massive challenge for low-income families trying to escape poverty because they must spend more money to afford those products. Moreover, children in these families can lack love, respect, and care because their parents have to spend more time working to improve expenditure. Another idea is that foods containing high sugar levels are not the main factor to impair public health. Living without regular physical activity and moderate exercise like walking or swimming can damage human fitness, making them liable to diabetes or weight gain, thus decreasing their happiness and lifespans. In conclusion, reducing sugar consumption is a pressing urge to strengthen public health, but I do not believe increasing prices to tackle this problem is an ideal solution.