Some people prefer to shop for food in supermarkets. Other people prefer to do their shopping online. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

Online shopping has become more and more popular recently. The preference has shifted to virtual shopping instead, while some will argue is better to shop for groceries in supermarkets. In this essay, I will explain the reasons behind these behaviours and why I stand for real store shopping. First of all, purchasing on the Internet is convenient and time-saving. Before this technology era, people spent hours together with a long shopping list for groceries every week. Also, with COVID-19 restrictions, the public is not allowed to go out in groups within the lockdown period. Virtual stores have been their only choice for daily necessities. Moreover, with fast delivery and user-friendly interface, food purchasing is easier and have free more time for people. Is online shopping having good sides only? I don't think so. The items stores on Intenet cannot promise their freshness. I personally prefer buying food in a real store as I can make sure the products I selected are fresh. For example, my family had an experience that the supermarket had packed an unfresh item, which almost expired, to our online order. Yet, since the product was not really expired, the manager refused to refund or exchange the item. In contrast, while we are selecting groceries inside the mart, we are able to check the best before date or the colour of the meats in order to choose them with the best quality. Although convenience may be important for us to do decisions, quality cannot be ignored. I believe the preference of food buying in supermarkets is superior to the digital store. To conclude, metropolitans rely on technology because that is easy to access and less time consumed. However, freshness cannot be promised by online platforms. Therefore I will consist of the old method of food purchasing.