In some countries, small town-centre shops are going out of business because people tend to drive to large out-of-town stores. As a result, people without cars have limited access to out-of-town stores, and it may increase the use of cars. Do you think the advantages of this change outweigh its advantages?

It is commonly believed that in some places people are forced to visit suburb shopping centres due to the diminished number of city -centre shops. This essay will analyse some merits and demerits of this tendency and personally, l opines that the positive sides outnumber the downsides. On the one hand, there are a few disadvantages of having more multi-storied shopping centres in the outskirts of a city or town. One of the drawbacks is that people have to waste their energy and valuable time. Most of-town-shopping malls are built far away from the city centres and people find it difficult to reach there for every single purchase. The shopping often takes hours to finish because of the long queue and this eventually makes the person exhausted and felt unhappy. On the other hand, the advantages of suburbs shopping complexes are myriad compared to the small shops in the city. Firstly, these buildings help to improve the quality of the citizens. In other words, people have the opportunity to purchase all necessary items in one visit that saves a greater amount of time which they can spend on healthy activities such as enjoying with family or do some workouts. Moreover, most shopping complexes are multi-storey buildings that offer a variety of amenities to the public such as a gym, restaurant and children's play area. Hence whole the family can have fun while purchasing. In India, in 2005 a survey conducted by the government revealed that more than half of the population is highly satisfied with the increased number of suburban shopping complexes. Also, if more shopping centres are shifting towards the city outskirts the government can provide public amenities such as parks and sports centres which better improve the livelihood of the citizens. In conclusion, although there are a few downsides of-town shopping complexes l consider the positives fairly outweigh the negatives.