In some countries, most people prefer to rent their homes rather than buying them. Whare are the advantages and disadvantages of renting a home?

Nowadays, in particular countries, the majority of the population has the preference of living in a rental home over owning one. However, there are a series of benefits and drawbacks, and this essay will discuss both points. On the one hand, the main disadvantage of not having your own house is that instead of investment property which is yours, you are paying for a rent a house monthly. For instance, some people prefer to buy a place for the reason that most of the time, the amount invested in a rental is almost the same as an installment of a loan. Thus, some individuals advocate that in the long term view owning a property is a security pilar after retirement. On the other hand, others claim that not having a fixed place these days is an excellent benefit. Compared to the past, where owning a house was more economical, today, this difference is less dramatic. It enables individuals to live wherever they find attractive and change it whenever is convenient. For example, during quarantine, most workers started working from home, making it possible to work from any place with an internet connection. As a result, part of the people living in rental homes decided to move to more pleasant places like the beach or a quiet country town. In conclusion, it is clear to affirm that renting a home has both pros and cons, and it is up to each individual to evaluate which option fits better with their values and lifestyle.