Many students are taught to push themselves to try and be better than other students, rather than working together for everyone’s benefits. Do the advantages outweigh the disadvantages?

In many countries, comparing with cooperation, most students are educated that they need to compete with others in different fields. I think that this phenomenon brings more benefits than problems. Firstly, competition stimulates students to study diligently. It is common to see that most students ’ motivation comes from competition with their peers. For instance, students who achieve poor academic performance will feel shame because teachers love students who can get high scores. After this, they are likely to study diligently to restore self-esteem. Moreover, if they are taught to be competitive in the study, they are likely to regard the study as a game, which will encourage them to learn as much as they can, arousing the desire to win. In the long run, this teaching pattern could constantly drive student’s motivation in studying. Secondly, this teaching way will be beneficial for students who will enter society in search of a job. It is undeniable that finding a job is becoming more and more difficult for graduates, which indirectly impose extra requirements on them, such as excellent interpersonal skills and in-depth specialization, challenging people’s well-rounded capability. For example, If some students are used to compete with others, they know how to show their strong points and how to avoid their weaknesses for the employer, improving their competitiveness in job hunting. In conclusion, educating students on how to beyond others and themselves will bring more benefits, such as motivation and future career. While the drawback does exist, it can be minimized.