The number of people who are at risk of serious health problems due to being overweight is increasing. What is the reason for growth in overweight people in society? How can this problem be solved?

Obesity causes serious health issues and is growing nowadays. In this essay, I will discuss the reasons behind the upward trend in the number of overweight people, as well as some suggestions to solve this problem. There are several explanations for why the number of obese individuals is increasing. First, the type of food that we eat has changed compared to the past. For example, we have been eating more fast food because it is cheap and can be prepared quickly, and hence it is suitable for the budget and lifestyle of many people. However, this kind of food is not healthy as it contains a high amount of fat. Second, unless people set aside some time to do physical exercise, our normal daily routine does not include physical effort as opposed to the past. We sit in the classroom or at work, drive the car or take transportation. Therefore, if we eat excess calories, there is little opportunity to burn them. To solve this problem, people should have a healthy lifestyle. Firstly, we should eat less fast food and more organic vegetables and meat. This will help decrease the number of saturated fats in our bodies and prevent heart and coronary diseases. Secondly, it is very important to include sports and physical activity in our routine. There is plenty of exercises we can do like biking, swimming, hiking, walking. Anyone from any age or fitness level can find something suitable for them. Thirdly, the government can play a role by limiting the growth of fast food companies, for instance, by raising taxes for this sector. To conclude, I believe obesity is a serious issue in today's world. We should do a collective effort to help each other to stay fit and eat healthily. I personally share tasty and healthy recipes with my friends and family as well as exercise routines.