In some countries, the difference in age between parents and children is generally greater than it was in the past. Do the advantages of this trend outweigh the disadvantages?

In many parts of the world, the gap in age between youngsters and their parents is bigger in comparison with the past. Although there are some drawbacks that would cause miscommunication issues, I believe the benefits that ones can gain by focusing on their career path and having financial stability are more significant. Admittedly, nowadays, the age ’s variance between parents and their children has some downsides. Firstly, at present, with the boundless sprawling of technology, it is becoming harder for old parents to understand their children’s slang or chatting abbreviations. To illustrate, usually, if a youngster wants to say “as you know”, they would type “AYK”, which is a recently commonly used abbreviation that elderly people do not know. This case would not represent a problem in the past as the internet invention was not present. Secondly, when parents become older, they often become tired more easily. Thus, their ability to participate in parenthood will be decreased which might affect raising a child in a proper manner. Nevertheless, I suppose that the above-mentioned negatives of this matter are overshadowed by major advantages. First and foremost, these days, building a prospering career path requires a lot of devotion and hard work. This is not easily achieved with family and children’s commitments. For instance, Steve Jobs, the founder of Apple had his first child at the age of 37 as he dedicated the early years of his profession to focus on his own business. Additionally, having children at late age helps parents with achieving financial stability to raise up their kids properly. For example, nowadays, schools’ fees are higher as compared to before, which requires high savings that one could achieve by postponing the decision of having a baby, hence ensuring better life circumstances for all family members. In conclusion, I am of the opinion that the merits of difference in age between kids and parents, including better career path and being financially secured, are more notable than any of the minor problems it might cause.