During the 20th century, contact between different parts from the world has developed rapidly thanks to air travel and telecommunication. To what extent do you agree that societies benefit from the increased contact and closer relationships with foreigners brought by international tourism and business?

We are eyewitnesses to the astounding rate of advancement in passenger jets and communication technology,which intensifies commercial interactions and travel on a global scale. This is in turn followed by various changes in society. Although I admit that it can bring some drawbacks,we can benefit a lot from the strengthened connections between other nations. Admittedly, certain problems do arise from growing international tourism.Not only does increased inflow of tourists drive up price levels in the form of demand-pull inflation, but also generate a great deal of rubbish and wasteful gases with increased human activities, levying pressure on finance of households and environment in the host country. Having said that, there is a wide range of benefits that society can receive from opening its arm to foreign visitors.As more travellers come to pay a visit, the demand for workers who are related to the industry, such as tour guides and hotel workers, increases. This creates job vacancies and reduces the unemployment rate. Moreover, not only the hotel industry and workers at tourist destinations benefit from increased consumption from tourists, but also restaurant owners and the transportation industry since the demand for food and transport rise as well, promoting comprehensive economic growth. As for business, engaging in international trade allows people to choose from a greater variety of goods from different foreign companies. In addition, more competition may make local firms less complacent and raise the quality of their products. As a result, people are able to gain a high level of satisfaction and enjoy products with more functions or longer life span,improving the quality of life.Take China as an example, as a result of introducing the reform and opening-up policy and welcoming multinational companies, people are now living with increased standards as Chinese companies, as well as their international counterparts, are producing goods with outstanding quality. To sum up, my view is that although interactions with other countries in tourism and business fields can be problematic, it will be beneficial for the society in general as it helps raise living standards and lead to lower unemployment.