Most large companies nowadays operate multinationally. To what extent multinational companies have responsibility toward local communities in which they operate?

In recent years, big corporations have expanded outside the borders of their country. In this essay, I will discuss some reasons why companies that are conducted multinationally should be responsible for local communities. From the social perspective, this brings tangible benefits to these companies. Firstly, skilled and educated workers are very concerned about their working conditions, wages, and job perks. Businesses that pay starvation wages, hire children, and have Poor Working conditions cannot attract the best employees. Secondly, if companies allocate their resources to improve the quality of life of local citizens, this will enhance their public image. For example, they should have philanthropy activities that help those who are less fortunate. This not only contributes to attracting high-quality employees but also increases their sales figures. From the environmental perspective, large companies have caused many environmental issues. The most important thing big companies should do now is to tackle the problem of pollution stemming from the irresponsible disposal of chemical wastes into the rivers and factory emissions. For instance, this is likely to result in water pollution and exert negative impacts on the health of local citizens. Moreover, some companies have caused oil spills that drive many species to the verge of extinction and devastate the local fishing industry. Another reason is that over-exploitations of natural resources caused by multinational corporators lead to the depletion of energy resources. Thus, these companies should re-invest corporate profits in researching renewable resources of energy and using them in their production chains. In conclusion, multinational corporations should allocate their resources to enhance the quality of life in areas where they do their businesses. It is a moral duty and self-interest of multinational firms.