You should spend about 40 minutes on this question. Some people believe that sport is an essential part of school life for children, while others feel it should be purely optional. Discuss these opposing views and give your own opinion. You should give reasons for your answer, and include ideas and examples from your own knowledge and experience. Write at least 250 words.

It is believed that children should play sports as it is neccesary in school life while some people say it is not compulsory. There are valid arguments on both sides, which we will discuss now. On the one hand, people who think sport should be optional subject find that physical activities only act as a waste of the valuable time which scholars’ have for studying. They argue that since students are already occupied with their studies, and the fact that time could be more well spent on academically. In addition, they also point out that playing sports can be dangerous for kid. For example when children play basketball or football together, it is inevitable that a collision will result in injury. On the other hand, it is an undeniable fact that play outside keep young learners fit and stay healthy. Constant running and jumping not only improves their muscle strength but also their observation and dexterity. Students who play teams are taught to work effectively in a team environment while others who choose to play solo sports have the opportunity to develop independence. But whether playing individually or as a team, they all have qualities such as agility, stamina, quick thinking, concentration. This qualities have a spillover in academics as well also. They are found to better and resilient students. Furthermore, people believe sports is essential point out playing games enhance mental health when it can reduce stress and depression. Moreover, sport matches can be profitable when selling tickets. In general, it is sensible to conclude that children should spent more time engaging in physical activities since it has numerous benefits such as improving physically and mentally, bringing profits. If sports are removed from the curriculum, students lead a sedentary lifestyle.