Young people are now spending more and more time and money following fashion trends. What is your opinion? Is this a positive or negative development?

In this day and age, it is obvious that young people tend to spend an increasing amount of time and money on up-to-the-minute clothes. While I suppose that this tendency exerts desirable impacts on the youth, I subscribe to the opinion that the downsides of this trend overshadow its upsides. On the one hand, catching up with the latest fashion trends brings about a number of upsides. Firstly, no sooner do youths pursue fashionable items than they can significantly boost their self-confidence and leave a good impression on others. Accordingly, a good-looking appearance can bring them a great deal of advantages in personal life and pave the way for their career prospects, especially if they want to work in the fashion -related industry. Furthermore, being at the height of fashion is deemed to demonstrate the wearer’s financial condition and aesthetic taste. As a result, they are likely to attract more attention from others, which creates a favourable condition for them to mingle with like-minded people and expand friend circles. On the other hand, this phenomenon may give rise to a multitude of negative impacts on young people. Firstly, as soon as they keep pace with the most current trends, they are more likely to dissipate their own money. As a host of items easily fall out of fashion before long, following fashion trends can impose financial burdens on adolescents themselves and their families. Equally important, being a slave to fashion might be considered as the culprit of poor performance at work or school. For example, the more time young people spend searching for trendy and stylistic clothes, the less time they would invest in their learning or researching for academic materials. To sum up, although I believe that following fashionable trends provides juveniles with positive impacts, it is my contention that the demerits of these tendencies overshadow the merits.