Some people believe that women should be able to join their country’s army and police forces, but others disagree. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

In this modern era, gender equality is of prime importance. It is considered by few individuals that any deserving candidate, male or female, should be given an opportunity to be employed in the armed forces or police. While others do not like the idea of any lady joining these jobs due to their physical incapability. This essay will examine both sides before presenting my perspective. On the one hand, we discourage gender bias on the basis of caste, sex or race. This implies that everyone has the right to choose his/ her profession. Neglecting females or demotivating them to contribute their knowledge and experience in the country's armed forces will be unjust. Physical strength is not the only criterion for such jobs. Traits such as leadership, management, teamwork and discipline are equally essential. A lady officer can manage her police team with as much wit as a man would. Thus, discriminating against women to enter such professions is undesirable. No one should decide for an individual the choice of career. The right to equality is fundamental and so, should be respected. On the other hand, there are few who argue that being physically fit is the only yardstick for selection in these domains. Thus, only men should join the army or the police. They forget the other skills such as intelligence and patience, vital to perform in these fields. In conclusion, in today's day and age, no girl should feel a glass wall in our democratic society. In my view, any deserving candidate should decide to enter a career of his/ her choice. Judging a person on the basis of gender is unacceptable. Both men and women form the social fabric of society and therefore,should be treated equally.