Nowadays technology is increasingly being used to monitor what people are saying and doing (for example, through cellphone tracking and security cameras). In many cases, the people being monitored are unaware that this is happening. Do you think the advantages of this development outweigh the disadvantages?

Technological advancements are being used for many purposes across the world. In this contemporary world, it is playing an indispensable role to monitor information exchanged over phones and actions performed with the help of cameras without people consent. In this essay, I will discuss both benefits and drawbacks of this phenomenon and provide supporting examples on why the former outweigh the latter. There are some drawbacks of this aspect and can be eradicated with the right security measures. First of all, it is majorly discouraged because it violates the privacy of individuals. Many times unsecured personal communications are hacked and are used for blackmailing purposes. The recent phone tappings of the opposition Congress party president Mr Rahul Ghandi, for instance, was considered to be a criminal offence. Apart from this, sometimes these advancements lead to national security issues due to the leakage of defence secrets. A factual incident of air force location information leakage of India to its neighbourhood country China, which led to an attack by the latter is a classic example to illustrate the criticality of this data. Having said that, the advantages of these technologies cannot stop their evolution because of some misuse. Primarily these recordings help the law enforcement officials in identifying criminals using their conversations. Any illegal incident that occurred can be investigated with the help of these recordings from respective telecom service providers, for example, Airtel and Vodafone Idea to help victims judicially. Adding to this, security camera's installation is mandated by the police personal in every country to identify thefts and misconduct. One of my personal experiences is the best example to mention, wherein a police officer helped me to recover the amount which I lost, from the accused criminal using an ATM surveillance footage is a clear sign of brilliance. In conclusion, nowadays, technology is an enabler to spy on others to understand their conversations and actions without user consent. The advantages of this trend in helping the enforcement officials to identify criminals are phenomenal when compared to the disadvantages which can be taken care of with high-security protocols.