Since most information about culture and history can be found online, museums are no longer needed. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Owing to the fact that information technology has occupied every aspect of human life, it is true that everything in history including the precious artefacts which can be observed and studied on computers or laptops that there is no need for existing museums. I completely agree with the aforesaid notion because of various reasons such as; 1. It could save travel time and money of the public essential for visiting the museums 2. it could be beneficial for the government as the huge land as well as the infrastructure needed to establish a perfect museum is no longer needed. This essay will dive into the topic in the upcoming paragraphs. Firstly, it has been observed that the people, especially the history students need to travel a lot in search of knowledge about the ancient artefacts and history. Moreover, they spend ample money in order to get authentic information from reliable sources. But, nowadays, the entire history and geographical study of all the valuable artefacts are readily available at just a single click and this is incredibly feasible not only for history students but also for the public who is inclined towards learning the history. For instance, the survey conducted by The National School of History, India, on 20th May 2020, revealed that 55% of the researchers published their reports regarding the popularity of the historical artefacts on the basis of online data and they never visited the museums at all. Therefore, it can be stated that the museum buildings are no longer useful and can be demolished. Secondly, there is evidence present, which shows that the government needs huge finance and enormous land in order to construct a suitable infrastructure for the museums. In addition to that, there is n number of expenses for maintaining the museums such as staff, offices, cleaning and preservation of the artefacts from theft and damage. For example, The article published in The Times of India, on 13 June 1980, revealed that the government of India spent billions of rupees to set up a historical museum in New Delhi, later remained unvisited by the public due to the availability of online data. Thus, it is vivid that the online platform is way more useful than the offline one. In conclusion, I believe that, due to the advancement in the internet, when people can comfortably use online information, there is no use of museums and hence those could be demolished so that the funds could be used for other mandatory tasks.