Many manufactured food and drink products contain high levels of sugar, which causes many health problems. Sugary products should be made more expensive to encourage people to consume less sugar. Do you agree or disagree?

It was argued by many that sugary processed foods and drinks have a bad impact on people's health, and thus, should be regulated by increasing their selling price as a way of discouraging consumption. I am in favour of this view as imposing a higher price on the products might help people avoiding health problems and change their buying behaviour. As the daily use of high levels of sugar within manufactured food can cause many diseases, namely obesity, and cardiac arrest, a higher price might be able to prevent this from happening. It is unlikely that once the products ' prices have been increased, there would still be people spend money on them. To illustrate, America has approximately 50% of adults are obese due to the excessive consumption of sugar, and this has been a major health issue recently. Thus, raising processed foods and drinks' prices might contribute to the decrease of chronic diseases. Taxing a higher price might as well help change human's tendency to buy high-sugar products. When the money people have to pay for sugary products was higher than that of other, healthier ones, then the sugar consumption would reduce significantly as people start switching to more wholesome food. An example of this would be the 10% higher tax imposed on high-sugar products, which serves as a monetary encouragement to purchase fresh foods and drinks. In conclusion, since sugar-containing products pose a threat to human's health, raising their prices might be beneficial to consumers.